REA Board of Directors

The agency consists of five members to be appointed by the Governor of North Carolina. All appointments made by the Governor shall be made for terms of four years. View the list of past and present Board Members.

Paul Spruill - Chairperson

  • Paul began his career in local government in 1998 serving as the Town Administrator, Assistant County Manager, and County Manager in the Town of Grifton, Chatham County, and Beaufort County respectively.
  • In 2011, Paul began his service in his current role of General Manager & CEO at Tideland Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) serving portions of Dare, Hyde, Washington, Beaufort, Pamlico, and Craven counties.
  • Paul is immediate past president of North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation (NCEMC) after completing his service in this role in March, 2021.
  • Paul is also a member of the Board of Directors of North Carolina Association of Electric Cooperatives. Paul is a voluntary member of the Beaufort County Community College Foundation.
  • Paul holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Wake Forest University and a Master of Public Administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Paul and his wife, Keely, live in Washington, NC.
  • Mr. Spruill was appointed to the REA Board by Governor Roy Cooper in June, 2021 and his term will expire in June, 2025.

Eric Cramer, Vice - Chairperson

  • Mr. Cramer is the President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Wilkes Communications and RiverStreet Networks in Wilkesboro, NC. Prior to his current position, he served as the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Assistant General Manager for Wilkes Communications. He began his career as a consultant with John Staurulakis, Inc. where he spent eight years working with numerous small independent rural telephone companies on financial and regulatory matters from 1996 – 2005.
  • Mr. Cramer has initiated a complete change management strategy for overall corporate growth and has overseen the launch of new product lines for Wilkes Communications and RiverStreet Networks. He has overseen multiple strategic acquisitions and extensive growth initiatives in the State through the establishment of multiple Public Private Partnerships to bring broadband to underserved and unserved residents. Most recently he has initiated a merger between the Wilkes TMC and TriCounty TMC cooperative memberships.
  • Wilkes Communications and RiverStreet was the first TMC network in North Carolina, and one of the first in the county, to be completely overbuilt with Fiber Optic Service and offering Gigabit broadband Internet speeds to every customer. Wilkes Communications and RiverStreet Networks has been nationally recognized for this achievement as being designated Gigabit Certified and a Smart Rural Trial Blazer by NTCA.
  • Mr. Cramer serves on the North Carolina 911 Board, serves on the Board of Directors for the Carolina-Virginias Telephone Membership Corporation (CVTMA); the Foundation for Rural Services (FRS); Wilkes Economic Development Corporation; The Better Business Bureau of Northwestern North Carolina and is the past Chairman of the Wilkes Regional Medical Center Board. He has also served on multiple committees with the National Telephone Cooperative Association (NTCA).
  • Mr. Cramer has served as a Director of the United Way of Wilkes County; served on campaigns for the March of Dimes and served on the Wilkes Chamber of Commerce Board and the Circles of Care of Wilkes County Board among other volunteer initiatives involving youth and youth leadership.
  • Mr. Cramer has a BSBA in Finance from Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania and an MS in Telecom and Technology Management and an MBA from the University of Maryland.
  • Mr. Cramer received the Excellence in Management Innovation Award in 2017 from NTCA and RiverStreet Networks most recently received the Excellence in Business Award in 2017 from the Wilkes County Chamber of Commerce.
  • Mr. Cramer was appointed to the REA Board by Governor Roy Cooper and his term will expire on June 30, 2027.

Carolyn Bradley

  • Carolyn Bradley currently serves as a Director for the Roanoke Electric Cooperative (EC) Board.
  • As a member of the Roanoke EC Board, she assisted in the establishment of Roanoke Economic Development, Inc. (REDI), a non-profit subsidiary and also assisted in the establishment of several community outreach programs that enhance the quality of life in the Roanoke EC serving area.
  • Mrs. Bradley has a Bachelor of Arts in Education from Elizabeth City State University. She is a credential certified Director; a Board Leadership Certified Director and a Gold Certified Director of the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association.
  • Mrs. Bradley is active in the Allen Chapel A.M.E. Church and serves on the Steward Board, has served as Sunday School Superintendent and on the Missionary Society.
  • Mrs. Bradley is married and has three children and two grandchildren. Her hobbies include watching sports, solving crossword puzzles and gardening.
  • Mrs. Bradley was appointed to the REA Board by Governor Roy Cooper and her term expired in June, 2021 and Governor Cooper reappointed her for a second term which will expire in June, 2025.


  • Donna began her career in telecommunications in 1998, joining the Marketing Department at Star Communications (STAR).
  • Throughout her career, Donna advanced to Information Systems as well as the Revenue department. In 2022, Donna began her service as Assistant General Manager, and was later named Executive Vice President & CEO at STAR serving Sampson, Bladen, Cumberland, Duplin, and Columbus counties.
  • Donna is proud to have initiated over $60M in grant awards for STAR.
  • Donna is also a member of the Board of Directors of AccessOn, NC Broadband Cooperative Coalition, NC Cooperative Council, and Carolina-Virginias Broadband Membership Association. Donna is a fellow Kiwanian and representative on the MYFUTURENC foundation with Sampson Community College. She also volunteers with the Beaver Dam ladies auxiliary and is an active member at Evergreen Baptist Church.
  • Donna holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from the University of Mount Olive along with two Associate of Applied Science degrees from Sampson Community College in Information Systems and Networking.
  • Donna and her husband, Jeff, live in Roseboro, NC with their two children.
  • Mrs. Bullard was appointed to the NCREA Board by Governor Roy Cooper 2023, and her term will expire in June 2027.

Roger Oxendine

  • Mr. Oxendine is a life-long resident of Robeson County where he is involved with agri-business, community service and his church. He is co-owner of Oxendine Farms and the operation consists of 5,000 acres of corn, wheat, soybeans, tobacco and hogs.
  • Mr. Oxendine is involved in community service and serves on the Board of Directors for Lumbee River EMC; is a member of the North Carolina Southeast Partnership Board; he serves as Chairman of the Board of Comtech Park and previously served as a Commissioner for Robeson County.
  • Mr. Oxendine is a graduate of Fairgrove High School and a member of Piney Grove Baptist Church where he is the Sunday School Director and Treasurer. He has a wife, Bobbie, and four children and eight grandchildren.
  • Mr. Oxendine was appointed to the REA Board by Governor Roy Cooper in June, 2020 and his term expired in June, 2021. Governor Cooper reappointed Mr. Oxendine for an additional four-year term which will expire in June, 2025.